EXCLUSIVE: Tinubu scraps Niger Delta Ministry, renames, splits others

By edition, Thursday, August 17, 2023. Like, share the link.

President Bola Tinubu has unveiled the designation of ministers that will work with him in his administration.

While the Ministry of Niger Delta Affairs has been scrapped, others were renamed or split for administrative convenience.

The portfolio of the Minister of Environment and Ecological Management was also reserved for Kaduna State, which has no ministerial nominee so far.

Likewise, the Presidency was silent on who is the substantive Minister of Petroleum Resources as it only listed Heineken Lolokpobri from Bayelsa State as Minister of State for the ministry, suggesting that President Tinubu might oversee the ministry, reminiscent of the Buhari days.

In the list unveiled by the Presidency on Wednesday, Tinubu appointed the immediate-past governors of Rivers and Ebonyi States, Nyesom Wike and Dave Umahi, as Ministers of FCT, and Works, respectively.

The President also appointed the immediate-past Jigawa State governor, Abubakar Badaru, as Minister of Defence, and Ms. Hannatu Musawa as Minister of Arts, Culture and Creative Industry.

Others include Lateef Fagbemi, SAN as Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation, while the immediate-past Osun State governor, Gboyega Oyetola, will serve as Minister of Transportation.

The full list of the Ministers-designate and their portfolios are:

Minister of Communications, Innovation and Digital Economy – Bosun Tijani; Minister of State, Environment and Ecological Management – Ishak Salako; Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy – Wale Edun; Minister of Marine and Blue Economy – Bunmi Tunji-Ojo; Minister of Power – Adedayo Adelabu; Minister of State, Health and Social Welfare – Tunji Alausa; Minister of Solid Minerals Development, Dele Alake; Minister of Tourism, Lola Ade-John.

Others are: Minister of Transportation, Adegboyega Oyetola; Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment, Doris Anite; Minister of Innovation Science and Technology, Uche Nnaji; Minister of State, Labour and Employment, Nkiruka Onyejeocha; Minister of Women Affairs, Uju Kennedy; Minister of Works, David Umahi; Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development, Festus Keyamo; Minister of Youth, Abubakar Momoh; Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, Betta Edu; Minister of State, Gas Resources, Ekperikpe Ekpo.

The remaining ministers are: Minister of State, Petroleum Resources, Heineken Lokpobiri; Minister of Sports Development, John Enoh; Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike; Minister of Art, Culture and the Creative Economy, Hannatu Musawa; Minister of Defence, Mohammed Badaru; Minister of State Defence, Bello Matawalle; Minister of State Education, Yusuf T. Sunumu; Minister of Housing and Urban Development, Ahmed M. Dangiwa; Minister of State, Housing and Urban Development, Abdullah T. Gwarzo; Minister of Budget and Economic Planning, Atiku Bagudu; Minister of Environment and Ecological Management, (Kaduna); Minister of State, Federal Capital Territory, Mairiga Mahmud; Minister of State, Water Resources and Sanitation, Bello M. Goronyo; Minister of Agriculture and Food Security, Abubakar Kyari; Minister of Education, Tahir Maman; Minister of Interior, Sa’Idu A. Alkali; Minister of Foreign Affairs, Yusuf M. Tuggar; Coordinating Minister of Health and Social Welfare, Ali Pate; Minister of Police Affairs, Ibrahim Geidam; Minister of State, Steel Development, U. Maigari Ahmadu; Minister of Steel Development, Shuaibu A. Audu; Minister of Information and National Orientation, Muhammed Idris; Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Lateef Fagbemi; Minister of Labour and Employment, Simon B. Lalong; Minister of State, Police Affairs, Imaan Sulaiman-Ibrahim; Minister of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs, Zephaniah Jisalo; Minister of Water Resources and Sanitation, Joseph Utsev; and Minister of State, Agriculture and Food Security, Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi.

Although the Presidency did not confirm the exact date for the swearing in and inauguration of the new cabinet members, it was gathered that a ministerial retreat for them will take place before the swearing in ceremony.

Related Articles


No Comment.

Back to top button