By The Evangelist News Edition, Monday September 4, 2023.

In an Emergency Stakeholders meeting held on Thursday, 31st August 2023, the youth leaders of Ibesikpo Asutan deliberated on various issues pertaining to the local government area and the state as a whole. Among the resolutions reached, the central theme was the unanimous vote of confidence bestowed upon the Executive Chairman, Hon. (Mrs) Akon Michael.

During the meeting, the youth leaders began by extending their congratulations to Governor Pastor Umo Eno on his victory in the 2023 Governorship election and subsequent swearing-in as the 5th democratically elected Governor of Akwa Ibom State.

They also expressed their gratitude to the Governor for the reappointment of their kinsmsn, Dr. Linus Nkan as the Honourable Commissioner For Finanace.

The youth leaders extended their gratitude to the Governor for his impressive momentum in the early days of his administration. They highlighted the flagging off of numerous road projects, financial assistance to women entrepreneurs, and clearance of outstanding arrears and gratuities for civil servants and primary school teachers. The youth leaders also commended the Governor’s efforts in distributing palliatives across the state to cushion the impact of fuel subsidy removal, saying the exercise will kickoff from Monday next week.


The genuine love and concern of Governor Umo Eno for the people of Ibesikpo Asutan were applauded by the youth leaders. The approval for the construction of a health center in Ikot Nkwo and the ongoing construction of the Owot Uta -Nung Oku Ekere -Afaha Udo Eyop – Edebom 1 Roads, connecting Ibesikpo Asutan with Nsit Ibom Local Government Area, were cited as examples. The youth leaders believed that these projects would greatly enhance healthcare accessibility and mobility for the people.

Hon. Akon Michael Asuquo, the Executive Chairman of Ibesikpo Asutan Local Government, was praised by the youth leaders for her political acumen and instrumental role in securing a resounding victory for the PDP in the 2023 General Elections. They acknowledged her dedication and commitment to the success of the party and highlighted her transformative efforts in various areas, including unity, economic empowerment, and security of lives and property.

The youth leaders proudly stated that Hon. Akon Michael Asuquo had been residing in her village at Ikot Abre, Asutan Ward 3, even before the Governor’s directive for council bosses to relocate to their villages. They expressed pride in her achievements, particularly in entrenching unity, economic empowerment of women and youth, and ensuring the security of all inhabitants of Ibesikpo Asutan.

Based on her remarkable achievements, the youth leaders unanimously passed a vote of confidence on Hon. (Mrs) Akon Michael Asuquo, the Executive Chairman of Ibesikpo Asutan Local Government. They called on the entire people of Ibesikpo Asutan to continue supporting her in line with the A.R.I.S.E Agenda of Governor Umo Eno.


Consequently, the youth leaders urged the dissenting voices within Ibesikpo Asutan to refrain from being manipulated by politicians with personal interests. They called on those who engage in distractive activities against Hon. Akon Michael Asuquo to cease their actions and support the workaholic Executive Chairman. The youth leaders also pledged their unwavering support and loyalty to the PDP and the A.R.I.S.E Agenda of Governor Umo Eno.

Lastly, the youth leaders pledged their unwavering support and loyalty to the PDP, as well as the A.R.I.S.E Agenda of Governor Pastor Umo Bassey Eno. They encouraged the entire people of Ibesikpo Asutan to continue providing the necessary support to Hon. Akon Michael Asuquo in her pursuit of progress for both indigenes and residents.

This vote of confidence serves as a testament to Hon. Akon Michael Asuquo’s outstanding leadership and commitment to the welfare of the people she serves.

Signed on behalf of the youth leaders were:
– Comrade Charles Nse, Chairman, National Youth Council of Nigeria (NYCN), Ibesikpo Asutan Chapter
– Alexander Umoh, Emperor, Supreme Youth Leaders Ibesikpo Asutan
– Comrade Ubong Mkpong, Chairman, Youth Caucus Ibesikpo Asutan Branch

Related Articles


No Comment.

Back to top button