Akwa Ibom Assembly Confirms Nominees Into Boards, Commissions

The Evangelist
December 6, 2022

The Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly has confirmed nominees for appointment into Boards and Commissions in the state, after due consideration of the report of the Hon. Victor Ekwere-led House Committee on Judiciary, Justice, Human Rights and Public Petition.

This formed part of the House activity during Tuesday plenary, presided over by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Aniekan Bassey, and in line with Order 9, Rule 17 (2f) of the Standing Orders of the House.

The confirmation was announced by the Speaker after legislative scrutiny of the report at the Committee of the Whole.

Recall that at the 8th Sitting of the Fourth Session of the Seventh Assembly on Monday, November 7, 2022, the House received a request from Governor Udom Emmanuel, through a letter, GHU/AKS/S/104/VOL. 7/869, dated 7th October, for the confirmation of nominees for appointment into Boards and Commissions in the state.

The confirmed nominees included a former Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Elder Anietie Etukre, as Chairman of the State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB); Akparawa Nse Ubeh as Member of the Judicial Service Commission; Hon. Saturday Akpan and Hon. Sunyiekekere Inokon as Members of the Local Government Service Commission, Mrs. Inibehe Silas and Dr. Mercy Ita as Members of the Akwa Ibom State Civil Service Commission.

Also confirmed by the House were Engr. Ekaette Inyang as Member of the Environmental and Waste Management Board; Elder Inyang Ebuk, Mfon Ittu, Nsini Umana as Members of the Advisory Council on Prerogative of Mercy; Prince Ubong Idiong as Member of the House of Assembly Service Commission; Hon. Ubong Ekefre, Mr. Tommy Enodien, Rev. Osondu Ahirika, Mr. Mfon Henry and Hon. Etiutom Ediene as Members of the Ethical and Attitudinal Re-Orientation Commission (EARCOM).

While Members confirmed into Akwa Ibom State Roads and other Infrastructure Maintenance Agency included Hon. Udeme Eduo and Major Edet Ebek, those of the Law Reforms Commission were Hon. Otobong Jonathan Akpan, Dr. Ekaette Usip and Bishop Favour Emmanuel.

Before calling for the adjournment of plenary to Thursday, December 8, 2022, the Speaker ordered the Clerk of the House, Mrs. Mandu Umoren, to communicate the House decision to the State Governor.

Related Articles


No Comment.

Back to top button