Sport Recorder

Akwa Utd Congratulates Gusau, Essien And The New NFF Executive

By Sports Recorder edition
October 3, 2022.

The Management of Akwa United Football Club has congratulated Mallam Ibrahim Gusau on his emergence as the newly elected President of the Nigeria Football Federation.

Also congratulated is the South South representative on the board from Akwa Ibom Rt Hon Nse Essien.

Mallam Gusau was declared winner after he polled a total of 39 votes in a run-off election to defeat former Super Eagles goalkeeper Idah Peterside who had only one vote, during the NFF Elective Congress at the Edo Heritage Hotel, Benin City, Edo state.

Chairman of Akwa United Football Club Elder Paul Bassey described Mallam Gusau as a tested football administrator whose vast experience as NFF board and CAF Comittee member will help to develop football in Nigeria.

“On behalf of Akwa United Football Club, I wish to felicitate Mallam Ibrahim Gusau, Rt Hon Nse Essien and other elected board members on their victory at the NFF Elective Congress. Mallam Gusau’s emergence as the President of Nigeria Football Federation is a clear demonstration of his wide acceptance by top football administrators and stakeholders across the country.

“It is Akwa United’s belief that the incoming board with their wealth of experience are well equipped with adequate knowledge to pilot the affairs of Nigeria football to enviable heights.

” Since Charity begins at home , we are delighted with the Chairman, Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly Committee on Youth, Sports and Security Rt. Hon. Otuekong Nse Essien for securing a seat as NFF Board Member representing the South-South zone.

“Rt. Hon. Otuekong Nse Essien is a passionate football administrator who has invested substantially in sports, especially football in Nigeria. His drive for the beautiful game is evident in him managing one of the fastest growing football outfits in Nigeria .

Akwa United also celebrate with club owner Chief Felix Anyansi on his emergence as the first Vice-president of the NFF, Alhaji Ahmed Fresh who was elected unopposed as the Chairman of Chairmen and Aisha Falode who emerged as one of the Board Members from the South-South zone.

Others are Otunba Dele-Ajayi, Alhaji Ganiyu Majekodunmi, Rt. Hon. Margaret Icheen, Alhaji Sharif Rabiu Inuwa, Alhaji Babagana Kalli, Timothy Henman.

“As a club, we are confident that the new NFF board will chart a new course for football development at all levels in Nigeria. Once again, we congratulate all the winners and wish them a successful tenure in office” Said Elder Bassey.

The new NFF executive is saddled with the responsibility of running the day-to-day football activities in Nigeria in the next four years.

Related Articles


No Comment.

Back to top button